My 1st Infographic: The History of ESL Methods/Approaches

Image

Information graphics or infographics are graphic visual representations of information,data or knowledge intended to present complex information quickly and clearly. They can improve cognition by utilizing graphics to enhance the human visual system’s ability to see patterns and trends.

Above is the definition of infographics from Wikipedia, and although it is possible to quickly and clearly present complex information via infographics, it is really time-consuming to create them, at least for the first time. With this blog post of mine, I would like to share an infographic that I created to experience this as a person who is fond of design. I created this infographic thinking of ESL methods and approaches that every teacher, or student teacher is familiar with. I thought it might be a good guide to overview those methods in light of the most important components, pros, and cons of all those methods and approaches across a timeline. I used Piktochart to create my infographic, but below you can find some other free/paid tools to create infographics.

  1. Piktochart
  2. Vizualize.me
  3. easel.ly
  4. Visual.ly
  5. Infogr.am
  6. iCharts
  7. Creately
  8. Wordle
  9. Venngage
  10. What About Me?

Below is the .jpg version of the infographic and here you can also access its online version on PiktoChart, where you can also view it in presentation mode and see each blog at a time:

The History of ESL Methods and Approaches

The History of ESL Methods and Approaches

Please do share your comments about it so that I could make any corrections or additions if necessary. Thank you.

5 thoughts on “My 1st Infographic: The History of ESL Methods/Approaches

  1. Dear Mustafa, thank you very much for your post. I have created an info graphic using piktochart that I would like to publish to my blog. I am confused with the html format, etc. Could you please explain to me how to publish my piktochart to my blog? In advance, thank you very much for your answer.

    • Hi, JuanfeHeredia! You are really welcome. I had also the same question when publishing my infographic to my blog. What I did was simply this: take a screenshot of tthe whole infographic OR download its JPEG/PNG version and link it to the original one on Piktochart’s website when you upload the image on your blog/website. If you have your own website and familiar with HTML editing, you can also try the HTML format for which you need to copy the link and paste it on your website or blog when in HTML edit mode. I hope it helps. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

